HomeNew HereAbout UsMinistriesContact Us
HappeningsGivingMembersMen's Ministry

Bethel A.M.E. Church Lay Organization
 Theme: "Laity Fulfilling the Great Commission”
Scripture Reference: Matthew 28:16-20

Lay Mission: The Lay Organization of the African Methodist Episcopal Church is commissioned to teach, train and empower its members for lay ministry, global leadership and service following the tenants of Jesus Christ.

The Purpose of this organization shall be to organize and train the laity of the African Methodist Episcopal Church so that lay persons may maximally utilize their God given abilities and skills to improve and extend the kingdom to create happiness, peace, and harmony among its members.

The main objectives to accomplish this purpose are:
        1. To create a love and appreciation of the history, traditions, and principles of African Methodism.
        2. Keep the memory of Richard Allen alive.
        3. Respect constituted authority and leadership.
        4. Stimulate and educate the laity in the total program of the church.
        5. To provide for the orderly and systematic training of lay persons, especially officers, in order that they might effectively perform 
            their service responsibilities.
        6. Study the Discipline and learn the laws of the Church.
        7. Encourage financial support of the church’s program.
        8. Teach and practice stewardship and work with youth to teach them Methodism.

Membership is open to all Lay persons (un-ordained) members of the A.M.E. Church who are in good and regular standing in their local church.

The official colors of the Lay Organization are: Royal blue and white or Navy blue and white.

Lay Benediction: 
May God bless us with the true spirit of Christianity. That we may live together, not as man over man, 
but as lay persons working with God. Amen.

For us at Bethel, San Antonio, there are levels in the Lay Organization. Beginning at the local level, they are: 
        1. The Local (Bethel A.M.E. Church) Lay Organization; 
        2. The District of the Annual Conference(San Antonio District) Lay Organization; 
        3. The Conference (Southwest Texas Conference Lay Organization); 
        4. the Episcopal (10th District) Lay Organization; 
        5. and the Connectional Lay Organization of the African Methodist Episcopal Church. Bethel is active and represented at all levels.

The presidents of the San Antonio District of the Annual Conference and the Southwest Texas Conference and both members of Bethel. Other members of Bethel serve in various capacities.

The Officers of the Bethel A.M.E. Church Lay Organization are:
Dierdre D. Fisher, President
Julia Hartfield, 1st Vice President
Lovie M. Hannon, Recording Secretary
Lillian Warren, Financial Secretary
Edward Hardemon, Chaplain
Sherry Bailey, Director of Lay Activities
Thomas Rockeymoore, Treasurer